Gratitude

Recently I began reading a new book by Rhonda Byrne, “The Magic”. It is the latest in her series starting with, “The Secret”. You may remember it… She also wrote, “The Power”. If you haven’t read the series I can’t encourage you enough to do so!! Read them in order, go into them with an open mind and heart.

One of the biggest lessons I have gleamed from her writings is to be Grateful. To mean it when I say Thank You and to say it often. I had always thought myself a polite person saying thank you when someone gives me something or does something for me. Is that enough? I don’t think so anymore. It isn’t about being polite so much as it’s about feeling the gratitude for the blessings in your life. We are surrounded by so many blessings they are impossible to count. But do you see them?? If you can’t see something as a gift, a blessing, then how can you feel the gratitude for it?

Slow down.

Breathe.

One of the “activities” in this new book is to write down 15 new things each day that you’re grateful for and why for a whole month. The first few days are easy but by the end of the first week I was looking for things to be grateful for to write in my journal. It has really taught me that the “things” we are blessed with are innumerable. Unfortunately sometimes things have to be lost or taken away for the gratitude to emerge… I am as guilty of this as the next person.

Today I’m grateful for:

Everyday, a thousand times everyday, I am grateful for my husband. But today in particular I’m grateful for his willingness and openness to explore my crazy ideas. For putting up with my search for our Utopia and all the adventures along the way.

I’m grateful for waterproof mascara!! I can finally wear my eye paint again without it burning my eyes when I sweat.

I’m grateful for the time I have every morning to write the blog, time to think, ponder and reflect on each day of our adventure. Time to share it all with you.

I’m grateful for the chance to see wildlife in it’s natural setting. I just watched a dragonfly dancing in the light by the generator. I’ve never seen them like that before. It was quite beautiful.

I’m grateful for fresh coffee and for York Peppermint Patty creamer. Our latest discovery!! It is soooo fabulous!!

I’m grateful for remembering Ed’s name!! With the new crew of fracers coming through it’s a whole new set of guys to get to meet and chat with. But remembering all their names is challenging. The smile on his face this morning when I remembered his name when greeting him was priceless. Everyone wants to know they are seen, that they matter. I’m grateful I could let him know that I see him and he matters to me.

I’m grateful for my kids, everyday, but today I’m grateful for Goober. She is becoming quite the Momma’s girl and has even started eating treats out of our hands. She’s always been a little skiddish but she is taking nicely to the smaller quarters and is thriving. I’m grateful for that. I’m grateful that Dickie is sleeping nicely with Chris and I’m grateful that Pinks is as playful as ever and cute as all get out!!

So, what are you grateful for?

Thought of the day: “If the only prayer you ever say in your whole life is “Thank You”, that will suffice.” ~~ Meister Eckhart

Until then…

3 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. So much to be thankful for. It’s nice to see a different side of you, more pensive.

    We saw the movie, “The Secret.” It’s definitely worth watching. Have not read the books, though.

    So nice to think about and plan your Utopia. Have fun.

    Susan

  2. Love this! I have a gratitude journal that I write down 5 things each day (more some days)… A friend once told me that if she was having a bad day, she had to come up with 6 things she was grateful for. I’m spending my Saturday reading from the beginning! I love your attitude! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

