We Did IT !!

Get your minds out of the gutter!! Not that “IT”. Jeez.

We survived our first full shift picking. We enjoyed it but our feet, legs, backs, arms – well they protested a bit. We spent the night loading our bins with book after book. I had no idea there were so many self-help and diet books out there!!

Here’s the thing, it’s not a “thinking” type of job. As our trainer put it, “Any monkey can do it.”. The computer system is so sophisticated that you don’t have to think about anything – just do. Then do it again. And again. And again. The “and again” is where the hard part kicks in. After the first few miles my legs were getting tired after the next few my feet hurt and my legs felt like lead. Luckily at that point it was lunch time and I was able to give em a break for a bit. The short-lived relief didn’t help much once we were back at it and the miles continued to add up. By last break I was done but the clock didn’t agree and so I pressed on. When it was finally over we drug ourselves home and collapsed into heaps. Chris was a little bit better off than I was but not by much. We had to eat something because our gas tanks were completely empty. Making a bowl of cereal was about all I could muster and Chris had left over lunch snacks. I made it up a whole hour after clocking out before my head hit the pillow. This morning I’m feeling the residual ache. Not as bad as I was thinking it would be though. I have a sneaking suspicion that tomorrow morning might be a different story though.

Even in our exhaustion and pain in the early hours this morning we both had a huge feeling of pride. We did IT!! We made it. We survived. That sense of accomplishment is what will carry us through tonight. We worked hard, did our absolute best. We went after something we wanted, something we’ve never done before, something that is probably a stretch physically but we pushed through and DID IT!!

Now for the numbers – the pedometer said Chris walked a total of 12.48 miles, 28,792 steps and burned approx 7864 calories. The calorie count seems high to us so we’re going to investigate that further.

I’m off to relax…have some coffee…chitty chitty with the Mr.

With much love

Mrs Madcap

 

15 thoughts on “We Did IT !!

    • We’re taking tylenol for now. I can’t take anything with aspirin in it cuz I’m allergic. As for the foot soaker – sounds fabulous!! Just have to be careful of the space they take up in the rig. Everything has to have a place when not being used and they tend to be on the big side. What I wouldn’t have done last night for a bubble bath…

    • Tylenol all around for us!! Bringing some tonight for lunch too. If we had the option for half shifts I would be all over that!! But alas it’s not an option so we push on!! Going for the 15 mile marker tonight…

  1. Do try Aleve. It kept me alive when I backpacked. Also some good trail runners might help with the feet/legs/back.

    I feel for you! Hope you work through the soreness soon. You deserve to be proud of yourself. You are a better woman than I am! 😀

    12 miles…….. WOW!

  2. We have one of those plug in vibrating massage pads…be a nice rub down after a day’s hard work. The miles – WOW!!! You should do before and after shots…come Christmas you’ll need a whole new wardrobe!

Leave a Reply

