Blessings in Abundance!!

What a chilly morning!! Wowzers!! I went to bed a lot earlier than usual. You could say it was a stressful night… Anywho, I woke up bright and early at 8:30 am. I haven’t seen 8:30 am in what feels like months. It was a little weird and whole lot of COLD!! It was 47 whopping degrees in the rig. First things first – get the electric heater going, next came the booties and finally the blanket. Ahhhh. It didn’t take too long for this little heater to start taking the chill off enough for me to unwrap to make the blessed coffee. Quiet cool fall morning. Just one of the good things in life!

Once Chris was up and fully caffeinated he set out to brave the cold and high winds to take a look at Big Red. But the wind had the upper hand and wasn’t giving in. With 20 mph winds, not counting the gusts, it was a chance just to open the hood let alone get her up on jacks. After wrestling with her a bit he had to close up shop and call it. Not worth taking a chance on the hood being ripped off too. Lucky for us the wind is supposed to be within ‘normal’ range tomorrow. But seeing as we are in the ‘Land of Oz’ we’re just gonna have to wait and see.

Meanwhile I threw together a new recipe in the crockpot with the stuff we had on hand for dinner. It turned out pretty darn good if I say so myself!! Easy too!! It was very much like beef and noodles but only with pork. I mixed a can of cream of mushroom soup, a packet of onion soup mix and a few dashes of soy sauce. Added in sliced onion and mushrooms and a sprinkle of crushed red peppers and garlic powder. Added a little water to thin it out and then covered 4 boneless pork chops with the sauce. I ended up cooking it on high for about 6 hours and the pork chops flaked perfectly into the sauce once done. I boiled some egg noodles and then mixed it all together. A very nice warm comforting fall dish and it made the rig smell heavenly!!

We got caught up on our ‘Walking Dead’ series today. Did a few chores. I took a nice long nap then we hit the showers. The heaters are rigged in the bath house now to come on every time the lights are turned on. So not only did I have a long hot shower but the room was nice and warm too!! Another one of life’s blessings.

After cleaning up I went to visit the nice sweet ladies that offered us help before. I need to get to the grocery this weekend to get us stocked up, especially with lunch goodies for Chris. We chatted for about an hour and in the midst figured out a plan to get me to the grocery. They just might be the sweetest ladies ever. They wanted to bring me to the grocery right then and there. They were so concerned we didn’t have anything to eat. So sweet!! I assured them that wasn’t the case I just didn’t have anything for Chris’ lunches next week, that’s my main concern with getting there this weekend. They even assured me that they would see too it that Chris didn’t have to walk to work Sunday night, they’d take him. We were trying to think of people in the park that worked Sunday night that he could hitch a ride with but they insisted on taking him on their day off. Amazing ladies!!

Chris has been fretting about the car all day. I think it’s the not knowing whats wrong that’s driving him nuts. Plus he was hoping to get the parts ordered today to get them in transit. It is what it is. And we should be able to see what it is tomorrow. No use fretting about it today… But he worried the majority of the day away. so much so that he is already in bed and I’m the one up late… Not too much longer though. Did I mention how early 8:30 am is??

With Much Love

Mrs Madcap

 

4 thoughts on “Blessings in Abundance!!

  1. Hope all is well with your car. Our van is acting funny, too. We need to figure it out fast so Rob can get it fixed before the cold settles in. Not to mention we like exploring on our days off! Stay warm!

    • I agree!! Get that bad boy checked on before it gets any colder!! We’re lucky that Chris is a whiz on Miatas so he’ll be able to do all the repairs. With me as his trusty side kick of course!! šŸ™‚
      XOXO

  2. I just discovered your blog through Susan on Travel Bug. We are at the same campground as you guys working at Amazon. We’re on the night shift M, T, Th, Fr in picking. I’ll try to find Chris tomorrow night to say hi. Sorry to hear it didn’t work for you. We are pickers this year (just finished our hardening week). Last year we worked in Chrisplant and the standing in one place was super hard on my back. I managed to stick it out (with a few sick days). This year I told them we wouldn’t come back if we had to stand in one place. I tried really hard to get transferred last year, but no way. It seems to be their hard policy. I don’t get it since at our orientation they were begging for us to refer more work campers. Why wouldn’t they keep you and let you move to another location when they are still in need of workers? Doesn’t make sense. Hope to meet you, maybe in the laundry room šŸ™‚

    • Welcome to our family Evelyn!! So good to have you!! And we’re neighbors to boot!! How fabulous is that!! We’ll meet up, I’m sure of it!! šŸ˜‰
      I’m ok with the whole Amazon thing now. It took a little time to get over but I’m good now. If we come back next year I’ll be prepared for what I can’t do at least!!
      Hope you enjoy getting caught up on the adventure!!
      XOXO

Leave a Reply

