Productive and Extremely Entertaining

Last night I had the opportunity to tag along with our new friends, the Scholl family, as Dad and the girls went into town for a few errands and then a stop at the Wally for me.

First things first… I have to let you in on a little secret. Y’all know that we don’t have kids of our own, it wasn’t in the plan for us by choice. But what you may not realize is that I have had next to Zero interaction with kiddos – Ever. I babysat a newborn once and had NO idea what I was doing. Beyond that, nothing, nada, Zip!! Occasionally friends would bring their kids over but they were usually self entertaining. So with my limited exposure I have no ‘little people’ skills. Which usually makes it very awkward for me even if no one else notices.

Interacting with these little gals is completely different though and it was instantly apparent. I knew it wasn’t me cuz my skills didn’t bloom overnight miraculously. I mentioned it to Chris and he just grinned. Sometimes it can be very annoying living with a man who knows everything about absolutely everything!! He said it’s because their parents don’t baby talk to them and probably never really did. They are spoken to and treated like true little people, just like his Mom did to all of them. So the interaction for me is so easy cuz they’re just little people not necessarily ‘kids’. It may sound ridiculous but take it from a kid illiterate person, it makes a huge life long difference!!

The best part for me was the trip to the Braums Ice Cream Shop. I was able to just step back and watch as each little girl looked wide-eyed at all the colorful choices for their treat. And of course it was too much fun to pass up taste testing the ice creams to make sure they found “The One”. To my amazement when each little gal got their sample flavor they all, without prompting, coaching or reminding, offered each sister and usually Dad a taste of their little sample. With all our decisions made we thoroughly enjoyed our fabulous ice cream cones as the girls told funny stories and giggled nonstop.

Next stop was the Wally where I was able to restock on some staples (read coffee) and pick up our prescriptions. A real lifesaver!! I wouldn’t want to face Chris without his morning shot of Joe and I don’t want to sleep on the couch anymore because my kicking is out of control. A big huge Thank YOU to Jody for letting me tag along!!

Once home I had a huge long list of chores to do still. It was ‘that’ night…you know the one. The dreaded 14 trips back and forth night. Yep – laundry, water refill and garbage – OH MY!! I put another pot of coffee on and got down to business. 3 loads of laundry, 6 jugs of water and 2 dumpster runs later and I was spent. But there’s no rest for the wicked. Time to do some kitchen clean up and get the pork roast in the crocker for BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches when Chris gets off work. Next order of business was to start my Christmas shopping. We only have 6 more weeks of working here at Amazon so that means that Christmas is 7 weeks away!! Local shopping is kinda out of the question this year so online here I come!!

Speaking of Christmas… We have decided to head home for the holidays after Amazon releases us. Chris and I will be heading to Chicago to spend a whole week with my family before regrouping for our next gig. This lifestyle affords us the flexibility to do it and we’re going to take advantage of it. Now the only question remaining is whether to fly or not…it’s so hard to judge the weather during that time of the year. We shall see.

Chris will be home early tonight due to mandatory VTO (Voluntary Time Off). With so much product being stuck in the Northeast after Hurricane Sandy each shift is taking some time off. Chris at least had the option to take all of tonight or only half the night off, a lot of other shifts didn’t have a choice it was a mandatory extra day off. Hopefully this will be the last week of VTO but we’ll see. All we can do is go with the flow. On the bright side this will get his weekend started a little early so he can look at the car before our lunchtime plans.

Off to sweep the carpet… I know, I know. But a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do!!

With much Love

Mrs Madcap

Leave a Reply

