Trailer Trash

I read an article not too long ago that evaluated the social classes of full-time Rvers. I thought it was so interesting because I had never thought of it that way. The article accurately pointed out that there are two very separate classes even out on the road. The world of RVs is just like ‘normal’ society, there’s an upper class and a lower class. There are a couple different distinctions when applying this status to fulltimers. The first being the year and price tag associated with your rig and the second is whether you have to work or can just play. As Chris and I discussed the article at length it was so amazing to us that such a level of snobbery would exist in this lifestyle. I mean seriously, we all have had to do away with the majority of our worldly possessions to start this lifestyle, right? Chris and I marveled at the irony of it all. We choose this lifestyle to simplify, take the emphasis off of the ‘stuff’ and turn our attention to the things and the people that really matter. Only to discover that some people now consider us trailer trash.

Much to my surprise and genuine shock I was treated like a lower class citizen, trailer trash if you will, just the other night. I do realize that of the two classes that’s where we fall but this was the first time I was addressed according to the ‘class’ system. To make the situation even more unbelievable – it was delivered by other Trailer Trash! I was talked down to, treated quite rudely and then dismissed as if I was a servant or something. I’ve stewed on it and decided there will always – no matter where you go – be idiots and snobs. I don’t understand the programing that goes into creating a person that truly believes they are better than their neighbor. Someone they know absolutely nothing about but then again don’t care to get to know either. At first I was terribly upset. I know it’s hard to believe but I got my feelers hurt and it made me sad. I’ve had time to think on it now and even though I’m still sad, now it’s not for me – it’s for them. What a sad little life. And at the end of the day…very lonely and quite pitiful. That’s their choice though. I choose to be the opposite. Once I realized it was my decision to be happy or not, the rest was easy!! So, to those meanies, Good Luck and Godspeed, but you won’t find my cute little behind around that ugliness anymore!!

It reminds me of another one of my favorite Maya Angelou quotes… β€œThe first time someone shows you who they are, believe them.”

**Today I’m grateful for the time to find clarity in a situation. The ability to evaluate and address my feelings when things happen instead of dwelling on them for years. Blogging or journaling is a great way to sort things out, very therapeutic.

 

8 thoughts on “Trailer Trash

  1. The people who feel the need to treat other people as less valuable are simply displaying that they have no intrinsic sense of self worth. So they have to manufacture a fake self worth based on how their stuff compares to others’.

    So glad you did not buy into their sad game!

  2. Please don’t let these people bring you down. We sold everything 12 years ago and become full-timers at age 50. We have a very nice RV(we are on our 2nd RV now) and a new truck to pull it but are still looked down upon by some because we do not have a home. It is sad that there are people out there who judge us on what possessions we have. We have never regretted leaving the “old life” behind. Be happy and have fun as you enjoy your travels.

    • Oh but Miss Carol, you do have a home. It’s just on wheels!! Our RV, as old and tattered as it may be, it’s our only home. It’s where we’re comfortable. Home is where you hang your hat,
      XOXO

  3. Shame. Fact is there are always going to be those out there. Best to spot em and keep em at bay. They are always a PIA if not.

Leave a Reply

