Upcycling Projects

It’s finally our Friday!! Whew!! What a long week… I’ll be sending out an Amazon update in a day or so once I get Chris’ mileage calculated after he’s done tonight. Definitely a whole different ballgame now that “Peak” has hit!!

While Chris has been working his tail off I’ve been keeping busy with my new-found friend, upcycling. I have always loved crafting but turning things I would normally throw away into new and useful items is a blast. I have to confess that umpteen more hours this week has been spent online looking at all the different ideas out there for everyday stuff. Again… The possibilities are really only limited by how far your imagination can take you. I love that!!

I’ve been working on two projects this week. The first one being a bowl made from recycled magazine pages. This one is very time-consuming but it’s coming along nicely and will be worth all the hours of folding and glue tipped fingers. The other is wrapping and decorating recycled bottles to use as decorative vases. I have 4 wrapped so far and several ideas on the decorating but more supplies are needed… With any luck I’ll have pics of the finished projects next week!! So excited!!

I’ve found a few new ideas this week that’ll be easy to start working on with the supplies I’m collecting around the house. Did you know you could turn that old tank top into a reuseable grocery bag or hobo style purse with very little supplies or sewing talent?? I also found a fabulous idea for using a fabric paint pin on old fabric to turn it into a customized throw pillow with whatever words/phrases/quotes you want. Very modern and chic. I’ll be using this idea on the old sofa cover we have for sure!! Then there’s the wine bottle holder collage made out of tin cans. So simple!! I think I’ll have plenty to keep me busy for some time now. πŸ™‚

By the way, the ‘Simple Plan’ is working!! Finally had the nerve to get on the scale again to check on things and lo and behold I’ve lost a little over 6 pounds!! Yippee!! Hooray!! It has been easy, so far. Making tweaks here and there as we go. We’re both enjoying the new variety we’ve been eating and I’m finding that the cooking isn’t such a big deal when it’s simpler foods. Plus I took my Mom’s advice and cooked several chicken breasts in the crockpot for shredding into meals during the week. I was able to make a decent size batch of chicken salad for Chris’ lunch sandwiches and still had some leftover to make a couple of salads with. Then I used the last of it for Chicken, Brocoli and Cheese soup. I’ll definitely be doing that again for next week!! Not that I really have a choice…Chris is requesting more Chicken Salad for his lunches. πŸ˜‰

Off to wrap more magazine pages…

**Today I’m grateful for advice/input/suggestions from family and friends. A new perspective is always a good thing…even if I don’t always follow the advice. πŸ™‚

With much Love

Mrs Madcap

 

3 thoughts on “Upcycling Projects

  1. I never thought of a tank top and a grocery bag but now that you mention it … it works! Thanks for spreading new ideas around.

    Congratulations Kristy!

  2. Getting caught up reading blogs now that we’re back in the U.S.

    I love your upcycling posts. Sounds like you’ve having a blast with it. Too bad we’re not closer…it would be fun to have a crafty upcycling party!

Leave a Reply

