Sunny Skies!!

What a beautiful sunny glorious January day!! It’s been really overcast and rainy since we got to Texas and today the clouds finally parted and we have Sunshine!! With a high temp today of 51 and tomorrow’s forecast reaching a grand 63 what’s not to smile about??

Well… Chris is thankfully on the mend from his horrific bout with the stomach flu but of all things, he felt the need to share… Oh yeah, that’s right, all those awful things he was doing in our potty the size of the smallest coat closet known to man… Yay, it’s my turn… Ugghhhh. I’ll spare you the gross and disgusting details but I have to admit I don’t ever recall being so sick in my life!! Right now is a calm phase so I’m catching up on emails, facebook and writing you of course. It’s hard not to feel better after a long, hot, really long shower even though this is the worst shower we have had yet. But it was hot and wet and I came out much cleaner than when I went in so – mission accomplished. This sunshine doesn’t hurt anything either, hard to be grumpy and crabby when the doors open to let the fresh air in, the birdies are singing and the kids are playing in the sunbeams.

Our Amazon days are officially over. Our last check and bonus arrived yesterday so Chris will be filling out his exit survey and he’s been threatening to write a blog on his thoughts of the experience. We’ll see… With Amazon past us we’re knee-deep in preparing for our next adventure. I know y’all have been waiting so patiently for the news and I apologize for the delay but I promise next week all will be revealed!! In the meantime we’re relaxing, licking our wounds and enjoying the down time.

While hanging out we’ve tallied our travel costs to get from Coffeyville to San Antonio. It may be shocking to some but to us it’s just about what we were expecting. Snowball ain’t a young thang, she’s quite the beast…sometimes it feels like we’re pumping the gas in and it’s piddling out the back-end. Thankfully the further south we got the better the gas prices…$3.09 a gallon makes us SMILE!! We always budget $1 a mile for travel…this is why.

Big Red – $77

Snowball – $410

Camping Fees – $108

700 miles traveled = $595 (Or one full Amazon paycheck)

Sometimes it helps to see it in Black and White… This is a cheaper lifestyle but it does cost real money if you plan on moving around. Makes me really wonder if a truck and trailer wouldn’t be a better option to save on gas, especially a nice diesel. Just a thought.

Time for another nap. 🙂

With Much Love

Mrs Madcap

9 thoughts on “Sunny Skies!!

  1. Yup, truck + trailer…even with diesel at near $4 gal, 700 miles for us equals 55 gals, or $220….the sun appeared today in Austin for the first time since Dec 24th…BrUtAl–need my Vit D…

    • Today is supposed to be absolutely gorgeous!! I’m going to have to get out and soak up some Vit D of my own. Just a little outing…
      We are going to have to do some serious research on truck & trailer vs RV and toad… So many choices…

  2. i pull a 33 ft travel trailer 3/4 gas and with no crazy winds i get about 8 mpg engine never sees over drive.
    You all be sure to stay hydrated dw caught that stuff and ended up on pedilite but it worked and she is my 57 year old baby. GOOD LUCK ON YOUR NEW VENTURE

    • Lots of research in my future on truck & trailer option!! I’m feelin much better…Thank YOU!! I’m going to venture out a little today and see how it goes.
      The new venture is going to be fabulous!! Can’t wait to get going and tell y’all about it!!

    • Lots of research in my future on truck & trailer option!! I’m feelin much better…Thank YOU!! I’m going to venture out a little today and see how it goes.
      The new adventure/gig is going to be fabulous!! Can’t wait to get going and tell y’all about it!!

  3. Yep, the cummins I pull the 5er with averages 14.8MPG pulling – 26+MPG empty, I do keep my foot out of it also.
    Hope you are feeling better real quick. Looking forward to good news on your next gig.
    Happy New Year.

    • Thank You!! I am feeling better, thank heavens!! That is some amazing mileage!! Makes the actual travel part a lot easier…details details. 😉
      So excited for the new adventure!! Soon!!
      XOXO

Leave a Reply

