Apartment Progress

The new apartment is pretty dang amazing!! It’s nice and big with lots of nooks throughout. But I didn’t feel that way initially… At first I was having issues embracing the uniqueness of the apartment. Our old furniture wasn’t fitting right, everything had such a left-handed feel to it, especially the living room. But I had an epiphany, with a lot of help from Chris, and now I’m excited to start decorating our new space!! Since we’re going to be here for a very Very VERY long time it only makes sense to decorate in things we are absolutely in love with. It may take longer…but hunting for the perfect pieces of furniture to refinish and searching online for the most fabulous curtains ever… That’s all part of the fun!!

DSCF1940Speaking of the most fabulous curtains EVER… I found them and they arrived this week!! To tell the truth I didn’t have to hunt for these gems very long, one little search and they were right there – just waiting for me!! I am in love with these curtains!! I think the colors are amazing and the pattern is so fun. Now if only the new bedspread would cooperate… Oh well…Let the hunt begin!!

 

DSCF1941One of my favorite features of the apartment is the addition of these long deep windows. They let the sunshine in without sacrificing privacy and they are perfect for plants since the kids can’t get to them!! Some of my plants are starters so we’ll see where they get to live permanently once they’ve outgrown their current space. The kitchen window is now the home of my little herb garden. Sneaky me put the plants up after the curtains were hung so a certain little kitty wouldn’t be the wiser. Worked like a charm!! Now we have fresh rosemary, oregano, basil, sweet mint and cilantro whenever we like.

DSCF1960 DSCF1961

 

 

 

 

 

A couple of weeks ago while Chris and I were battling a head cold I redid the pictures for the bathroom. The ones I originally made were just OK, I loved the concept…the vision in my head…but the finished product wasn’t exactly right. Besides, the frames were just too small for the new space. We needed bigger and bolder!! I’m in love with these now!!

DSCF1970We also have a large bay window in our bedroom. From the moment Chris and I saw it we knew it’d be a favorite cat hangout. What furry kid can resist a huge window to sprawl out in and soak up all those sunbeams?? Well they must have a pillow to lay on…right? 😉 So Momma made ’em one!! It isn’t anything fancy…it is a cat bed after all… The kids love the tie blankets I’ve made in the past, it’s their absolute 1st choice for snuggle time, so it was a perfect combo to make their pillow/bed like a tie blanket. The only difference is I added some quilt stuffing in the middle before tying it off. Happy Kids = Happy Home!! 🙂

DSCF1972This candle holder was given to me…almost as a test… It was absolutely hideous and filthy, one foot in the trash. But I saw some potential…some hope that a little hug (paint) could bring her back to life. Much to even my surprise I decided on a cream color to spray paint it with. I didn’t even know I had such a calm color in my arsenal. Easy breezy!! Just add some pretty (bright) candles and my table centerpiece is complete. Test Score = A+ Now to just finish the rest of the table setting… Follow up to come!!

Chris and I have been working hard to get my new craft/upcycling shop up and running. In the new apartment I don’t really have a space to craft so our storage unit outside will have to do. It really isn’t a big deal since the bulk majority of my projects have to be done outside anyway. Everything is in the shop, which was a huge undertaking all by itself, and the electrical is all done, a big project for Chris, now just to organize all my goodies… I have A LOT of stuff!! It’s getting hard to keep working on the shop without working on any projects!! I have a couple that I can’t wait to get my hands on!! In time…in time…

Well, I’m off to get ready for another fabulous day at the Mini!!

With Much Love

Kristy

 

Leave a Reply

